• classicsdujour.com

Classics Du Jour


That’s Why God Made The Radio

Artist: Beach Boys
Release Date: June 5, 2012
Amazon iTunes

Track Listing

1. Think About The Days
2. That's Why God Made The Radio
3. Isn't It Time
4. Spring Vacation
5. The Private Life Of Bill And Sue
6. Shelter
7. Daybreak Over The Ocean
8. Beaches In Mind
9. Strange World
10. From There To Back Again
11. Pacific Coast Highway
12. Summer's Gone

Recommended Releases

  • Amazon Audible Gift Membership


About the Album

Hollywood, California – April 25, 2012 – The founding members of The Beach Boys, one of  the world’s most legendary bands in popular music history, have reunited for a global 50th  Anniversary celebration, including a new album release, a major international tour, and  commemorative catalog releases.  Today, The Beach Boys announce details about their new  studio album, That’s Why God Made The Radio, to be released June 5 by Capitol/EMI.

Beach Boys Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, and David Marks recently  completed their recording sessions at Los Angeles’ Ocean Way Studios for That’s Why God  Made The Radio, the band’s 29th studio album (including 2011’s The SMiLE Sessions), the first  in decades to feature all of the band’s surviving original members.  Produced by Brian Wilson  and executive produced by Mike Love, the album’s 11 new songs illustrate The Beach Boys’  unique and evocative West Coast story with the band’s timeless signature sound.


The album’s lead single, “That’s Why God Made The Radio,’ showcases The Beach Boys’  soaring harmonies in an upbeat, beaming ode to music’s radio champions around the world.   Beginning today, the song is available for download purchase from all major digital service  providers, and it makes its national radio premiere today on “Mike & Mike In the Morning” on  ESPN Radio and ESPN 2 (6 AM-10 AM ET/PT, check local stations).  A new lyrics video for the  single has been launched today on VEVO and The Beach Boys’ YouTube channel, where a  video about the making of the song is also available for streaming.

“Radio was my whole education,” says Brian Wilson.  “Chuck Berry, Rosemary Clooney, The  Four Freshmen, Phil Spector, Little Richard… To hear ‘That’s Why God Made The Radio’ on the  radio would be a thrill beyond belief, it really would.  It would be a thrill beyond belief.”

“I got a lot of my appreciation for all of the creativity in the world, in terms of music, through the  radio,” says Mike Love.  “For all of us who grew up in the ’50s, ’60s, ’70s and beyond, the radio  has played such a huge, important part in our lives.  When we were kids, we’d sneak out of the  house and go and sit in Brian’s car and listen to the local radio stations on his car radio.”

The album’s other new songs include “Think About The Days,” “Isn’t It Time,” “Spring Vacation,”  “Private Life Of Bill And Sue,” “Shelter,” “Daybreak Over The Ocean,” “Beaches In Mind,”  “Strange World,” “My Life Suite,” and “Summer’s Gone.”

Image Gallery

Beach Boys Videos

Beach Boys Headlines

Send this to a friend