• classicsdujour.com

Classics Du Jour


Point of No Regrets: Kansas Carry On With New Album ‘The Absence of Presence’

Kansas (L to R): David Ragsdale, Zak Rizvi, Phil Ehart, Ronnie Platt, Richard Williams, Tom Brislin, Billy Greer

The omnipresence of Kansas on the musical landscape is hitting the half-century mark. While so many of the Midwest born-and-bred band’s peers have ended up on the dustbin of has-bins and countless “whatever happened to…” lists, Kansas continues to produce pertinent, sonically powerful and lyrically thought-provoking tracks that pack as much punch as a Kansas (the state) tornado. Unwilling to rest on the unit’s well-earned laurels, the members of Kansas – Phil Ehart, Richard Williams, Billy Greer, Tom Brislin, Ronnie Platt, David Ragsdale and Zak Rizvi – are proving they have no intention of sailing off into the sunset anytime soon.

I recently spoke with drummer Phil Ehart about the band’s just-released album The Absence of Presence, available now. Listen to the entire interview below.

“We’re coming up on 50 years – or I’m coming up on 50 years in this band. A band that I started with the original six. And I have no regrets. I mean it’s just been incredible. I have no professional regrets. None.”

Stay Connected:


Stay InformedKeep up to date on all things classic rock

By submitting this form, you consent to receiving marketing emails from Classics Du Jour in accordance with our Privacy Policy. You may revoke consent at any time by using the Unsubscribe link at the bottom of every email. Emails served by FanBridge.

Send this to a friend