Classics Du Jour


The Absence of Presence

Artist: Kansas
Release Date: July 17, 2020
Kansas The Absence of Presence album cover Amazon iTunes

Track Listing

The Absence of Presence
Throwing Mountains
Jets Overhead
Propulsion 1
Memories Down the Line
Circus of Illusion
Animals on the Roof
The Song the River Sang

Recommended Releases


About the Album

Kansas, America’s legendary progressive rock band, released their highly anticipated new studio album The Absence of Presence on July 17, 2020.

We are really excited for our fans to be able to get a taste of what is to come from ‘The Absence of Presence,’” says KANSAS lead vocalist Ronnie Platt. “I think people will really be surprised by the album. ‘The Absence of Presence’ shows the band firing on all cylinders.”

The Absence of Presence follows-up 2016’s The Prelude Implicit, which debuted at #14 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums chart.

The Absence of Presence, released by Inside Out Music, features nine all-new tracks written by the band, produced by Zak Rizvi, and co-produced by Phil Ehart and Richard Williams. Kansas’s signature sound is unmistakable throughout. The album showcases Ronnie Platt’s towering vocals, David Ragsdale’s searing violin, Tom Brislin’s dazzling keyboards, Williams and Rizvi’s electrifying guitar riffs, Ehart’s powerful drums, and Billy Greer’s rocking bass.

“We are really proud of the album ‘The Absence of Presence,’” comments KANSAS guitarist, producer, and songwriter Zak Rizvi. “Making a new Kansas album sets a very high musical standard that is expected from our fans. From rockers, to progressive epics, to ballads, there is something on this recording for everybody.”

The Absence of Presence is out now on Inside Out Music and is distributed by The Orchard. The album is available on CD, Double LP 180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition Deluxe CD + 5.1 Blu-Ray Artbook, and digitally on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, and all other streaming services.


In the Spotlight

Kansas Headlines