Classics Du Jour


Plain Spoken: From The Chicago Theatre

Artist: John Mellencamp
Release Date: May 11, 2018
Plain Spoken: From The Chicago Theatre John Mellencamp Amazon

Track Listing

1. Lawless Times

2. Troubled Man
3. Minutes to Memories

4. Small Town
5. Stones in My Passway
6. Pop Singer
7. Check It Out
8. Longest Days

9. The Full Catastrophe
10. My Soul's Got Wings

11. Overture
12. Rain on the Scarecrow
13. Paper in Fire
14. Authority Song
15. Pink Houses

16. Cherry Bomb

Recommended Releases


About the Album

Try to keep it as plain spoken as possible…” those are some of the first words the viewer hears in Plain Spoken: From The Chicago Theatre. A self-narrated musical journey, the film encapsulates the sound and soul of John Mellencamp. Stepping outside the boundaries of a concert film or documentary, Plain Spoken blends highly personal voice-overs from Mellencamp with live footage of him performing with his full band at the historic Chicago Theatre, just 250 miles from his native Indiana. He tells us the story of his Midwestern upbringing, the trials, turns and triumphs of his career, and his overall outlook on life while the music plays, supporting his stories. The result is the essence of John Mellencamp, delivered fully on-screen.

In addition to the full film with Mellencamp’s commentary, this audio visual release offers a “non-commentary” option (available in the Main Menu) in which viewers can watch the concert on its own. The audio visual set is completed with a component CD of concert audio. The set, which includes special guest Carlene Carter, showcases Mellencamp performing his most cherished songs. “Small Town,” “Minutes To Memories,” “Pop Singer,” “Cherry Bomb,” “Longest Days,” “Authority Song,” and “Pink Houses” are just some of the gems cherry-picked from his brilliant catalogue, as well as including songs from his most recent album Sad Clowns And Hillbillies.

Image Gallery

John Mellencamp Videos

John Mellencamp Headlines