Classics Du Jour


Elton John Announces ‘Madman Across the Water’ 50th Anniversary Reissue

New deluxe edition will feature 18 unreleased tracks

Madman Across the Water album cover
The album cover for Elton John’s Madman Across the Water

Elton John will release a new, deluxe edition of his 1971 album Madman Across the Water in celebration of the record’s 50th anniversary. The reissue includes 18 unreleased tracks which consist primarily of piano demos as well as performances from a 1971 BBC concert taping.

You can watch an unboxing video for Madman Across the Water 50th Anniversary edition in the player below.

Madman Across The Water will be available in several formats including 3-CD+Blu Ray Super Deluxe Edition, 4-LP box and 2-CD set. The original LP will be available on limited edition blue and white coloured 180g vinyl. An accompanying 40-page booklet includes memorabilia and artwork as well as notes from Elton John and his songwriting partner Bernie Taupin about the making of the album.

Madman Across the Water was Elton John’s fourth studio album. It featured nine songs written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin including the singles “Levon” and “Tiny Dancer”. Despite mediocre chart performance in its early weeks, the album eventually went on to be certified double platinum. In 2021, “Tiny Dancer” was named on of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time by Rolling Stone.

Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Reissue is due out June 10th and available for pre-order now.

Pre-order Madman Across the Water on Amazon here.

Watch Chrissie Hynde, Brian May, Elton John and More Sing Beach Boys’ ‘God Only Knows’

Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Track Listing

CD 1

1. Tiny Dancer (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
2. Levon (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
3. Razor Face (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
4. Madman Across The Water (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
5. Indian Sunset (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
6. Holiday Inn (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
7. Rotten Peaches (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
8. All The Nasties (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
9. Goodbye (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
10. Indian Sunset (Live Radio Broadcast)
11. Madman Across The Water (Original Version, featuring Mick Ronson)
12. Rock Me When He’s Gone
13. Levon (Mono Single Version)
14. Razor Face (Extended Version)

CD 2

1. Madman Across The Water (1970 Piano Demo)
2. Tiny Dancer (Piano Demo)
3. Levon (Piano Demo)
4. Razor Face (Piano Demo)
5. Madman Across The Water (1971 Piano Demo)
6. Indian Sunset (Piano Demo)7. Holiday Inn (Piano Demo)
8. Rotten Peaches (Piano Demo)
9. All The Nasties (Piano Demo)
10. Goodbye (Piano Demo)
11. Rock Me When He’s Gone (Piano Demo)
12. Rock Me When He’s Gone (Full Version)

CD 3

1. Tiny Dancer (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
2. Rotten Peaches (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
3. Razor Face (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
4. Holiday Inn (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
5. Indian Sunset (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
6. Levon (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
7. Madman Across The Water (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
8. Goodbye (BBC Sounds For Saturday) Taped November 11, 1971 / transmitted April 29, 1972


Greg Penny 5.1 mix of Madman Across The Water (Original Version, featuring Mick Ronson)
Greg Penny 5.1 mix of Madman Across The Water

Sounds For Saturday (Taped November 11, 1971 / transmitted April 29, 1972)
Old Grey Whistle Test (Transmitted on December 7, 1971)

Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend