• classicsdujour.com

Classics Du Jour


New David Bowie Box Set Announced

'Spying Through a Keyhole' features early demos and unreleased songs

Album cover for the new David Bowie box set
A new David Bowie box set, Spying Through a Keyhole, is due out this spring on Parlophone Records

On what would have been David Bowie’s 72nd birthday, Parlophone has announced a brand new Bowie box set for release this coming spring. The release comes 50 years since the release of the late artist’s first hit, “Space Oddity.”

Spying Through a Keyhole will feature nine previously unreleased David Bowie recordings from that early “Space Oddity” era, all on 7″ vinyl singles.

The title of the box set comes from the lyrics of “Love All Around” a previously unknown song available in the set. A full track listing is available below.

Most of the recordings featured in the box set are solo vocal and acoustic home demo performances. A press release announcing the box set includes the following disclaimer:

“Due to the nature of some of the solo home demos where Bowie accompanied himself on acoustic guitar, the recording quality isn’t always of a usual studio fidelity. This is partly due to David’s enthusiastic strumming hitting the red on a couple of the tracks, along with the limitations of the original recording equipment and tape degradation. However, the historical importance of these songs and the fact that the selections are from an archive of tracks cleared for release by Bowie, overrides this shortcoming.”

Spying Through a Keyhole is currently limited to a vinyl-only release.

Spying Through a Keyhole Box Set Track Listing:

  1. Mother Grey (demo)
  2. In The Heat Of The Morning (demo)
  3. Goodbye 3d (Threepenny) Joe (demo)
  4. Love All Around (demo)
  5. London Bye, Ta-Ta (demo)
  6. Angel, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 1)
  7. Ange, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 2)
  8. Space Oddity (demo excerpt)
  9. Space Oddity (demo – alternative lyrics) (with Hutch)
Stay Connected:



Send this to a friend