Classics Du Jour


Watch: Alan Parsons Announces New Album, Releases New Track featuring Tommy Shaw of Styx

Alan Parsons
Alan Parsons. Credit: Renae Karlquist

Alan Parsons will release his new album From the New World on July 15 via Frontiers Music Srl. Fans can get their first preview of the album with the release of the single and music video, “Uroboros” which features vocalist/guitarist Tommy Shaw of Styx.

You can watch the video for “Uroboros” in the player below.

From The New World continues with the classic sound Parsons has become known for by fusing progressive, symphonic, and classic rock elements together. In addition to Tommy Shaw, other guest appearances on the album include guitar virtuoso Joe Bonamassa, David Pack (formerly of Ambrosia), and American Idol alumni James Durbin.

You can pre-order/save From The New World on CD, CD/DVD, Color Vinyl, Collector’s Box Set, & Digital formats here.

The CD/DVD includes CD + DVD Audio (5.1 Audio Mix of new album). The LP is available as Limited Edition Crystal color vinyl and Limited Edition Yellow color vinyl. The Collector’s Box Set includes CD+DVD (housed in a digipak), Live in Madrid Digifile, T-shirt (size L), LP (180g, gatefold, Blue Transparent), poster, & numbered lithograph.

Alan Parsons began his career at the age of 19 as an assistant engineer at the legendary Abbey Road studios in London working with the Beatles on their albums Let It Be and Abbey Road. Those who recently saw Peter Jackson’s Get Back series got to view vintage footage of Parsons working alongside the Fab Four. Parsons would soon go on to bring his innovative style of engineering to albums by Paul McCartney, the Hollies, and Pink Floyd on their 1973 masterpiece The Dark Side of the Moon. 

Parsons would quickly move into the role of producer, winning countless gold and platinum awards. Simultaneously he formed the Alan Parsons Project with Eric Woolfson, producing a myriad of hits including “Eye in the Sky,” “Don’t Answer Me,” “Time” and “Games People Play.” The Parsons/Woolfson duo never toured, but rather concentrated all their efforts in the studio.  After ten studio albums with The Project, Parsons began recording albums under his own name and started to play live for the first time. 

In 2019, as well as winning a Grammy for the 35th Anniversary edition of Eye In the Sky, Parsons released his fifth solo album, The Secret. It was an album revolving around the theme of magic, which is a passion of Parsons. The Secret was his first studio recording in 15 years, and it culminated in a series of worldwide tours.

Uroboros – Alan Parsons featuring Tommy Shaw of Styx

From The New World Tracklist

1.   Fare Thee Well
2.   The Secret
3.   Uroboros (featuring Tommy Shaw of STYX)
4.   Don’t Fade Now
5.   Give ‘Em My Love (featuring James Durbin, Joe Bonamassa)
6.   Obstacles
7.   I Won’t Be Led Astray (featuring David Pack, Joe Bonamassa)
8.   You Are The Light
9.   Halo
10. Goin’ Home
11. Be My Baby

Alan Parsons From the New World cover
Alan Parsons’ From the New World will be released July 15 via Frontiers Music Srl

Alan Parsons From the New World Lineup

Lead Vocals – Alan Parsons, Tommy Shaw, David Pack, James Durbin, P.J. Olsson, Todd Cooper, Dan Tracey, Mark Mikel, Tabitha Fair

Backing Vocals – Alan Parsons, Tommy Shaw, P.J. Olsson, Todd Cooper, Dan Tracey, Doug Powell, Mark Mikel, Chris Shutters, Scott Hunt 

Guitars – Alan Parsons, Jeff Kollman, Dan Tracey, Doug Powell, Jeff Marshall, James Durbin, Tim Pierce

Bass – Guy Erez

Drums – Danny Thompson

Keyboards – Tom Brooks, Doug Powell, Matt McCarrin, Kim Bullard

Sax – Todd Cooper

Cello on “I Won’t Be Led Astray” – Mika Larson

Guitar Solos on “Give ‘Em My Love” and “I Won’t Be Led Astray” – Joe Bonamassa

Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend