Classics Du Jour


Bruce Springsteen Details New Covers Album, Releases New Music Video

Only the Strong Survive album cover
The album cover for Bruce Springsteen’s Only the Strong Survive, due out November 11

Bruce Springsteen is celebrating the sweet sounds of soul music on his new album Only The Strong Survive, due out November 11 on Columbia Records. The Boss marked the announcement of the new album with the release of the album’s first single “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” and an accompanying music video.

You can stream or download “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” on digital platforms now here. The video, which was directed by longtime Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny, is below.

Only The Strong Survive celebrates soul music gems from the legendary catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and many more. This 21st studio album from Bruce Springsteen will also feature guest vocals by Sam Moore, as well as contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang,” said Springsteen in a statement. “And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray, and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all — and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

Watch a special video message from Bruce Springsteen about Only The Strong Survive below.

Backstage Access:
Bruce Springsteen & the Business of the Unexpected

Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album

Bruce Springsteen “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” Official Music Video

Only The Strong Survive was tracked at Thrill Hill Recording in New Jersey, produced by Ron Aniello, engineered by Rob Lebret and executive produced by Jon Landau. The release will mark Bruce Springsteen’s first studio album since 2020’s Letter To You (Columbia Records), which debuted at #1 in eleven countries. Springsteen will reunite with the legendary E Street Band in February for his 2023 international tour, which to date has sold over 1.6million tickets across the United States and Europe.

Only The Strong Survive Track Listing

1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together

Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend