Classics Du Jour


ELO’s Jeff Lynne Receives OBE for ‘Services to Music’

Jeff Lynne of Electric Light Orchestra (ELO)
Jeff Lynne

Jeff Lynne, best known as a founding member of Electric Light Orchestra but whose contributions to music extend far beyond the progressive pop-rock band, has received an O.B.E. (Order of the British Empire) for his services to music.

Lynne was named on the Queen’s Birthday Honours list this weekend along with an unusually extensive list of others, many of whom were honored for their contributions throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I am extremely humbled and grateful to be awarded this honour for my services to music,” Lynne said in a Tweet. “To be recognised for my work is an extraordinary privilege.”

Jeff Lynne co-founded Electric Light Orchestra in 1970 and produced all 15 of the group’s Top 10 singles. In 1988 he co-founded the supergroup the Traveling Wilburys. He has produced albums for Tom Petty, Bryan Adams, George Harrison, Roy Orbison, and Joe Walsh, among others.

Lynne’s most recent releases include Alone in the Universe (2015) and From Out Of Nowhere (2019), both released under the moniker Jeff Lynne’s ELO.

In 2015 Jeff Lynne received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He has been honored with three Ivor Novello Awards and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Electric Light Orchestra in 2017.

Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend