• classicsdujour.com

Classics Du Jour


Watch Linda Ronstadt’s “Just One Look” from Her First-Ever Live Album

'Live in Hollywood' features 12 performances from the singer's acclaimed 1980 HBO special

Despite having released more than two dozen studio albums during a stellar career that has spanned more than five decades, Linda Ronstadt’s forthcoming ‘Live in Hollywood’ is the singer’s first-ever live album.

Recorded in April of 1980 for her acclaimed HBO television special, the album features 12 performances, handpicked by Ronstadt from the original concert.

Watch and hear “Just One Look” below.

Linda Ronstadt – Live in Hollywood – “Just One Look”

In concert, Ronstadt was joined by an outstanding band that included guitarists Kenny Edwards and Danny Kortchmar, drummer Russ Kunkel, bassist Bob Glaub, keyboardist Billy Payne (of Little Feat fame), pedal steel guitarist Dan Dugmore, and backing vocalist Wendy Waldman. Rounding out the band was Peter Asher – Ronstadt’s producer and the concert’s executive producer – who played percussion and sang background.

On stage, Ronstadt held the packed audience spellbound with powerful renditions of her biggest hits – “Blue Bayou,” “Poor Poor Pitiful Me” and “It’s So Easy” – plus an incredible, previously unreleased six-minute jam of her #1 smash, “You’re No Good.” The concert also showcased a trio of Top Ten hits from Ronstadt’s then-current album – Mad Love – with performances of “I Can’t Let Go,” “How Do I Make You” and “Hurt So Bad.” After its release in February 1980, Mad Love would become Ronstadt’s seventh consecutive platinum-selling album.

John Boylan – who produced Live in Hollywood – says the album almost didn’t happen because HBO, Ronstadt, and her record label, Warner Bros., could not initially find the master tapes. It was a rink-side conversation with a Warner Bros. audio engineer at their sons’ hockey practice that would finally lead him to the missing tapes. In the album’s liner notes, he writes: “I have no way of calculating the odds of finding the lost tapes through a chance encounter at a hockey practice, but they must be astronomical – like winning the lottery. And in this case of remarkable serendipity, every Linda Ronstadt fan is a lottery winner.”

Live in Hollywood is due out February 1st on CD, LP, digitally and on streaming services.

Linda Ronstadt ‘Live in Hollywood’ Track Listing

CD Track Listing:
1. “I Can’t Let Go” *
2. “It’s So Easy”
3. “Willin’” *
4. “Just One Look” *
5. “Blue Bayou”
6. “Faithless Love” *
7. “Hurt So Bad” *
8. “Poor Poor Pitiful Me”
9. “You’re No Good” *
10. “How Do I Make You” *
11. “Back In The U.S.A.” *
12. “Desperado” *

LP Track Listing:
Side One
1. “I Can’t Let Go” *
2. “It’s So Easy”
3. “Willin’” *
4. “Just One Look” *
5. “Blue Bayou”
6. “Faithless Love” *

Side Two
1. “Hurt So Bad” *
2. “Poor Poor Pitiful Me”
3. “You’re No Good” *
4. “How Do I Make You” *
5. “Back In The U.S.A.” *
6. “Desperado” *

*previously unreleased

Stay Connected:



To our music friends,

This is an unusual time.

Please: be diligent, be aware and be careful of exposure to (or sharing) COVID-19! Our lives depend on it.

Stay safe!

- Your friends at CDJ

Send this to a friend