Classics Du Jour


Whitesnake Return With New ‘Purple’ Album

whitsnake-the-purple-album-cover-2015Whitesnake will return this spring with their 12th studio album – the band’s first new studio album in 4 years.

Set for a May 19th release (North America), The Purple Album is a re-imagination of classic songs from David Coverdale’s time as the lead singer for Deep Purple’s Mark 3 and Mark 4 studio albums.

“It’s a tribute. A homage. It’s a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago,” said Coverdale in a statement. “As I said to Ritchie, you guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn’t have asked for better teachers. The University of Deep Purple was an extraordinary, amazing school to learn from. We can’t wait to play these songs in concert!”

The album is currently available for pre-order on Amazon in a deluxe edition format  featuring 2 bonus tracks, 4 music videos and a Behind The Scenes featurette on the recording of the album. A standard edition and a double LP vinyl format will be available in the near future.

The Track Listing for The Purple Album is:

1)       Burn
2)       You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
3)       Love Child
4)       Sail Away
5)       The Gypsy
6)       Lady Double Dealer
7)       Mistreated
8)       Holy Man
9)       Might Just Take Your Life
10)    You Keep On Moving
11)    Soldier Of Fortune
12)    Lay Down Stay Down
13)    Stormbringer

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

14)    Lady Luck
15)    Comin’ Home

DVD Content:

Lady Double Dealer – Music Video
Sail Away – Mix Music Video
Stormbringer – Music Video
Soldier Of Fortune – Music Video
Purple Album Behind The Scenes
Purple Album EPK


Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend