Classics Du Jour


Alice Cooper Unveils New Single “Rock ’N’ Roll”

Velvet Underground cover is first single from Cooper's forthcoming studio album

Detroit Stories is due out February 26, 2021 via earMusic

Alice Cooper has unveiled the first single from his forthcoming studio album Detroit Stories. Hear “Rock ‘N’ Roll” now in the player below.

A cover of the Velvet Underground’s original version, the new track, along with the rest of the songs on the album, pay homage to Detroit’s music scene. It was there, in Alice Cooper’s home town, that hard rock acts like the original Alice Cooper group, the Stooges and Ted Nugent got their start in the 1960s and 70s.

“Detroit was Heavy Rock central then,” explained Cooper in a statement, “You’d play the Eastown and it would be Alice Cooper, Ted Nugent, the Stooges and the Who, for $4! The next weekend at the Grande it was MC5, Brownsville Station and Fleetwood Mac, or Savoy Brown or the Small Faces. You couldn’t be a soft-rock band or you’d get your ass kicked.”

“Los Angeles had its sound with The Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield,” he says, “San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had The Rascals and The Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the birthplace of angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the US (musically or image wise) Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound and our crazy stage show. Detroit was a haven for the outcasts. And when they found out I was born in East Detroit… we were home.”

10 Things You Might Not Know About Alice Cooper

Detroit Stories is due out February 26th, 2021 and was produced by Cooper’s longtime collaborator Bob Ezrin. It will be available on CD, CD+DVD Digipak, CD Box Set (including CD, Blu-ray, T-shirt, face mask, torch light and 3 stickers), and 2LP Gatefold on earMUSIC.

The DVD and Blu-ray includes the live performance “A Paranormal Evening At The Olympia Paris” for the first time on video, an addition that Cooper felt the need to include as the global fight against the COVID-19 has cancelled most in-person concerts.

You can pre-order or pre-save the album now.

Alice Cooper – Rock ‘N’ Roll (Audio)

David Gilmour Discusses “Dark Side of the Moon” with CDJ’s Paul Rappaport

Detroit Stories Track Listing

1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Stay Connected: