Classics Du Jour


Listen to Official Audio from Springsteen’s 1978 Pièce De Résistance Show

Bootlegged shows have long been cherished by parts of the fan community, and the good ones continue to be coveted decades later. Such is the case with Bruce Springsteen’s September 19th, 1978 concert at the Capitol Theatre in Passaic, New Jersey.

Springsteen and the E Street Band were mid-tour and in peak-form that sweltering hot night – having released Darkness at the Edge of Town three-months prior. The epic three-hour show was broadcast on radio stations throughout the Northeast, which meant it was quickly pressed onto vinyl and sold as a bootleg – the most famous of which is known to fans as the Pièce De Résistance.

Now, for the first time, Springsteen has released the official audio recording for this much-loved show and it puts even the best of those bootleg copies to shame. The entire performance has been remixed and restored from the original multi-track takes and has been released as part of an ongoing live archive series. Fans can purchase a digital copy on Springsteen’s official live archive website.

Listen to the official audio for “Meeting Across The River” from that night’s show:

Track List

  1. Badlands
  2. Streets Of Fire
  3. Spirit In The Night
  4. Darkness On The Edge of Town
  5. Independence Day
  6. The Promised Land
  7. Prove It All Night
  8. Racing In The Street
  9. Thunder Road
  10. Meeting Across The River
  11. Jungleland
  12. Kitty’s Back
  13. Fire
  14. Candy’s Room
  15. Because The Night
  16. Point Blank
  17. Not Fade Away – She’s The One
  18. Backstreets
  19. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  20. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  21. Born To Run
  22. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  23. Detroit Medley
  24. Raise Your Hand
Stay Connected:


Send this to a friend